This temple is situated in the small island of puliyantivu which lies to the south of analaithivu and is separated by a street of brackish water marshy land. The chief deity of this temple is nageswaran accompanied by his consort sri rajarajeswary. The temple was constructed with mortar and rubble when it was consecrated (kumbabhishekam) in 1950. The committee of management renovated the temple once again and consecrated it in 1960. The significant tree of the temple is the bo tree (arasamaram). The holy well dedicated to nagabhooshani is found here. The main festival that are observed in the temple are the thiruvembavai poojas and the arundhra dharsan festivals. Another special festival of the templeis the “pittu pooja” related to an episode in ”thiruvilaiyadal” (devine prolich of load shiva) in which lord siva assigned the role of a labourer carrying basket of sand. The maha sivarathri festivalis observed with four poojas being held throughout the night with the observance of the water cutting ceremony (in the samudhra) in the morning of the following day. The six poojas dedicated to lord nadaraja peruman are held on the respective days in the year. Three poojas namely morinig, noon and evening poojas are held daily.
Bus stand -> turn right side -> 700m though hospital road -> 200m KKS road and turn left side -> 300m passed by Jaffna Fort then, travel along Jaffna – Kayts road (AB19) -> 20.7km kayts junction -> 2km Kannaki Amman Kovilady Jetty then ferry service 40 minutes -> Analaitivu jetty -> 3.4km Puliantivu Nageshwaran Temple.